Skip to content 🏠 » Essays » Essay on Dhaka In Bangladesh

Essay on Dhaka In Bangladesh

image_pdfGenerate PDF

Dhaka Division is an administrative division within Bangladesh. Dhaka is the capital city in Bangladesh. The division covers an area of 31,119.97 km² and has a population of 38,678,000 (2000). In 2010 the population of the Dhaka Division reached approximately 46 million.

Dhaka Division bounds the Indian state of Meghalaya to the north, Barisal and Chittagong Divisions on the south, Sylhet Division to the east, Rajshahi and Khulna Divisions to the west.

Dhaka Division, formerly Dacca 

Division of East Pakistan province consists of one city corporation, 17 districts, 58 municipalities, 119 Upazilas, 1239 union parishads, 12765 Mouzas, 549 wards, 1623 mahallas, and 25244 villages. The districts are Dhaka, Gazipur, Narsingdi, Manikgonj, Dhaka is a megacity and one of the major cities of South Asia. Located on the banks of the Buriganga River, Dhaka, along with its metropolitan area, has a population of over 12 million, making it the largest city in Bangladesh.

Under the Mughal rule in the 17th century, the city was known as Jahangir Nagar. It was a provincial capital and a center of the worldwide muslin trade.

Modern Dhaka is the center of political, cultural, and economic life in Bangladesh. Although its urban infrastructure is the most developed in the country, Dhaka suffers from urban problems such as pollution, congestion, and lack of adequate services due to the rising population. In recent decades, Dhaka has seen modernization of transport, communications, and public works. The city is attracting large foreign investments and greater volumes of commerce and trade. It is also experiencing an increasing influx of people from across the nation, this has made Dhaka the fastest growing city in the world.

The population of Dhaka city (areas under the jurisdiction of the Dhaka city corporation) stands at approximately 7.0 million. The city, in combination with localities forming the wider metropolitan area, is home to an estimated 12.8 million as of 2008. The population is growing by an estimated 4.2% per year, one of the highest rates amongst Asian cities. The continuing growth reflects ongoing migration from rural areas to the Dhaka urban region, which accounted for 60% of the city’s growth in the 1960s and 1970s. More recently, the city’s population has also grown with the expansion of city boundaries, a process that added more than a million people to the city in the 1980s. According to Far Eastern Economic Review, Dhaka will become a home of 25 million people by the year 2025.

Dhaka has the largest number of schools, colleges, and universities in any Bangladeshi city. The education system is divided into 4 levels: Primary, Secondary (from grades 6 to 10), Higher Secondary (from grades 11 to 12), and tertiary. The five years of lower secondary education concludes with a Secondary School Certificate (SSC) Examination. Students who pass this examination proceed to two years of Higher Secondary or intermediate training, which culminate in a Higher Secondary Certificate (HSC) Examination. Education is mainly offered in Bangla, but English is also commonly taught and used. A large number of Muslim families send their children to attend part-time courses or even to pursue full-time religious education, which is imparted in Bangla and Arabic in madrasahs.

Similar Posts: