List of Rivers of Bangladesh

Bangladesh is a riverine country. About 800 rivers including tributaries flow through the country constituting a waterway of a total length of around 24,140 km. Most of the country’s land is formed through silt brought by the rivers.

Water resources management, including gravity flow irrigation, flood control, and drainage, were largely the responsibility of the Bangladesh Water Development Board. Other public sector institutions, such as the Bangladesh Krishi Bank, the Bangladesh Rural Development Board, the Bangladesh Bank, and the Bangladesh Agricultural Development Corporation were also responsible for the promotion and development of minor irrigation works in the private sector through government credit mechanisms.

Following Is A List of Some of The Major Rivers of Bangladesh:

  1. Atrai River
  2. Bangali River
  3. Balu River
  4. Baral River
  5. Biskhali River
  6. Bhairab River
  7. Brahmaputra River
  8. Buriganga River
  9. Bura Gauranga River
  10. Chiknai River
  11. Dakatia River
  12. Dhaleshwari River
  13. Dhepa River
  14. Dhanu River
  15. Feni River
  16. Gumti River
  17. Gorai-Madhumati River
  18. Halda River
  19. Ichamati River
  20. Jaldhaka River
  21. Jamuna River
  22. Jinai River
  23. Kaliganga River
  24. Kangsha River
  25. Karatoya River
  26. Karnaphuli River
  27. Kazipur River
  28. Khowai River
  29. Kirtankhola
  30. Kobadak River
  31. Kopothakho River
  32. Kumar River
  33. Kushiyara River
  34. Mahananda River
  35. Manu River, Tripura
  36. Mathabhanga River
  37. Meghna River
  38. Muhuri River
  39. Naf River
  40. Nagar River
  41. Padma River
  42. Punarbhaba River
  43. Pusur River
  44. Shitalakshya River
  45. Surma River
  46. Teesta River
  47. Titas River
  48. Tulshiganga River
  49. Turag River

Leave a Comment